# Government

#### Names:

conventional long form: Republic of Equatorial Guinea

conventional short form: Equatorial Guinea local long form: Republica de Guinea Ecuatorial

local short form: Guinea Ecuatorial

former: Spanish Guinea

Digraph: EK

**Type:** republic in transition to multiparty democracy

Capital: Malabo

**Administrative divisions:** 7 provinces (provincias, singular - provincia); Annobon, Bioko Norte, Bioko Sur, Centro Sur, Kie-Ntem, Litoral, Wele-

Nzas

Independence: 12 October 1968 (from Spain)

National holiday: Independence Day, 12 October (1968)

Constitution: new constitution 17 November 1991

**Legal system:** partly based on Spanish civil law and tribal custom

Suffrage: universal adult at age NA

#### Executive branch:

chief of state: President Brig. Gen. (Ret.) Teodoro OBIANG
NGUEMA MBASOGO (since 3 August 1979); election last held
25 June 1989 (next to be held 25 June 1996); results - President
Brig. Gen. (Ret.) Teodoro OBIANG NGUEMA MBASOGO was reelected without opposition

head of government: Prime Minister Silvestre SIALE BILEKA (since 17 January 1992); Vice Prime Minister Anatolio NDONG MBA (since November 1993)

cabinet: Council of Ministers; appointed by the president

#### Legislative branch: unicameral

House of People's Representatives: (Camara de Representantes del Pueblo) elections last held 21 November 1993; seats - (82 total) PDGE 72, various opposition parties 10

Judicial branch: Supreme Tribunal

## Political parties and leaders:

ruling party: Democratic Party for Equatorial Guinea (PDGE), Brig. Gen. (Ret.) Teodoro OBIANG NGUEMA MBASOGO, party leader

opposition parties: Progressive Democratic Alliance (ADP), Antonio-Ebang Mbele Abang, president; Popular Action of Equatorial Guinea (APGE), Casiano Masi Edu, leader; Liberal Democratic Convention (CLD), Alfonso Nsue MOKUY, president; Convergence for Social Democracy (CPDS), Santiago Obama Ndong, president; Social Democratic and Popular Convergence (CSDP), Secundino Oyono Agueng Ada, general secretary; Party of the Social Democratic Coalition (PCSD), Buenaventura Moswi M'Asumu, general coordinater; Liberal Party (PL), leaders unknown; Party of Progress (PP), Severo MOTO Nsa, president; Social Democratic Party (PSD), Benjamin-Gabriel Balingha Balinga Alene, general secretary; Socialist Party of Equatorial Guinea (PSGE), Tomas MICHEBE Fernandez, general secretary; National Democratic Union (UDENA), Jose MECHEBA Ikaka, president; Democratic Social Union (UDS), Jesus Nze Obama Avomo, general secretary; Popular Union (UP), Juan Bitui, president

Member of: ACCT, ACP, AfDB, BDEAC, CEEAC, ECA, FAO, FZ, G-77, IBRD, ICAO, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS (associate), ILO, IMF, IMO, INTELSAT (nonsignatory user), INTERPOL, IOC, ITU, NAM, OAS (observer), OAU, UDEAC, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO

# Diplomatic representation in US:

chief of mission: (vacant); Charge d'Affaires ad interim Teodoro Biyogo NSUE

chancery: (temporary) 57 Magnolia Avenue, Mount Vernon, NY 10553

telephone: [1] (914) 738-9584, 667-6913

FAX: [1] (914) 667-6838

### **US diplomatic representation:**

chief of mission: Charge d'Affaires Joseph P. O'NEILL

*embassy:* Calle de Los Ministros, Malabo *mailing address:* P.O. Box 597, Malabo *telephone:* [240] (9) 21-85, 24-06, 25-07

FAX: [240] (9) 21-64

**Flag:** three equal horizontal bands of green (top), white, and red with a blue isosceles triangle based on the hoist side and the coat of arms centered in the white band; the coat of arms has six yellow six-pointed stars (representing the mainland and five offshore islands) above a gray shield bearing a silk-cotton tree and below which is a scroll with the motto UNIDAD, PAZ, JUSTICIA (Unity, Peace, Justice)

# **Defense Forces**

**Branches:** Army, Navy, Air Force, Rapid Intervention Force, National Police

**Manpower availability:** males age 15-49 89,752; males fit for military service 45,611 (1995 est.)

**Defense expenditures:** exchange rate conversion - \$2.5 million, NA% of GDP (FY93/94)